Murkowski announces new staff for Energy Committee

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski announced that Michael Pawlowski and Colin Hayes will be joining her team on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, which she’ll chair.

Pawlowski is better known in Alaska political circles as “Fish,” for no discernible reason. He was most recently a deputy commissioner at the Alaska Department of Revenue. He’s a life-long Alaskan and a graduate of Alaska Pacific University. He’s well-liked and respected by many, and can explain RORs to a five-year old. He helped shepherd through the new oil tax legislation, as well as legislation that began to establish the framework under which the state can participate as an equity partner in the natural gasline.

Former Murkowski staffer and energy adviser Colin Hayes will also be joining the committee. He’s a graduate of Hobart College and most recently earned an MBA from George Mason University. According to a Murkowski press release, he played a key role on multiple bills while a staffer, including the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and the Helium Stewardship Act of 2013


4 thoughts on “Murkowski announces new staff for Energy Committee

  1. Jon K

    Anyone that can get Mike Hawker, Gerran Tarr, Craig Johnson, Ralp Seaton, and Les Gara to vote in favor of one of the most complicated, controversial, and significant pieces of legislation (SB 138) in the state’s history deserves high praise.

  2. CPG49

    Murkowski’s gain is the state’s loss. MP will be a great addition to the senate energy committee staff.

  3. Fish

    There is definitely a reason why Mike’s nickname is Fish.

    He loves to Fish.

    Pretty simple and discernible reason if you know him.

Comments are closed.